Job scams

Bulletin alert!

New variances of job scams have been added and updated.

Consumers and businesses should be on the lookout for the following job scams targeting Canadians:

Mystery shopper

Consumers receive a notice in the mail that they have been selected to be a:

The notice includes a cheque and some instructions. Victims are asked to deposit the money into their personal bank account. Victims are instructed to deposit a large part of the money into a specific bank account. Victims may also be asked to make small purchases; including gift cards. The gift card numbers are provided to the fraudsters to confirm that they work. At every step, victims are asked to complete and submit a customer service survey based on their experiences. The surveys are a prop to convince victims that the job is real. Victims later find out that the cheque they deposited is fake and they now owe money to the bank.

Warning signs – How to protect yourself

Car wrapping scam

Consumers receive an unsolicited text message stating that they can earn $300 to $500 per week by wrapping their car, truck, SUV or bike with a "company" logo. An email link is provided and consumers who respond receive instructions and a contract followed by a cheque in the mail. Consumers are instructed to deposit the cheque and withdraw a portion of the funds. Upon completion, victims are advised to deposit the funds into a specific bank account to pay a graphics company and/or other fees. Consumers then learn that the cheque is counterfeit and that they are responsible for any funds withdrawn. Fraudsters will falsely impersonate legitimate companies such as Clearly Canadian, Monster Energy, Coca Cola and Heineken in an attempt to make the job seem real.

Warning signs – How to protect yourself

Work from home

Scammers use free online classified websites or unsolicited email campaigns to recruit potential victims. Consumers answer the ad and receive an offer to become a:

and subsequently correspond via email with the fraudsters. Victims are hired as payment processors for the suspect company and their job is to receive payments from the company's clients. Commonly, victims report receiving e-transfers or wire transfers into their personal bank account. After receiving the payments, the victims are directed to send money through Western Union, MoneyGram or Bitcoin to a company representative usually in Eastern Europe (e.g. Russia or Ukraine).

In a variation of this scam, the suspect says that they are sending you money to buy the supplies required for your new home office. The fraudster will provide a company name and the banking details for the victim to pay. In the end, all the transactions processed are fraudulent and the victim may end up owing money to the bank.

Warning signs – How to protect yourself

Job offer with promise of immigration to Canada

Fraudster are creating fake job postings to work and move to Canada. Fraudsters will often use the name of companies that exist in Canada. Consumers may complete various applications. These applications may request personal and financial information that could be used for identity fraud. Almost immediately, fraudsters will congratulate the consumer on getting the job. The victim will be contacted by someone claiming to help them with the immigration process. The fraudsters may claim to be from Canada High Commission or Immigration Canada. Fraudsters will ask for money for a many reasons (passports, permits, visas, traveler's cheques, etc). Too often, victims will send money many times before they realize that the job does not exist.

Warning signs – How to protect yourself

Date modified:

Fraudes liées à l'emploi

Bulletin d'alerte!

De nouvelles variantes de fraudes liées à l'emploi ont été ajoutées et mises à jour.

Les consommateurs et les entreprises devraient être à l'affût des différentes fraudes liées à l'emploi qui ciblent actuellement des Canadiens.

Client mystère

Une personne reçoit un avis par la poste l'informant qu'elle a été choisie pour être un :

L'avis comprend un chèque et des directives. La victime se fait demander de déposer l'argent dans son compte bancaire personnel. Elle reçoit la consigne de déposer une grande partie de l'argent dans un compte bancaire précis. Elle peut aussi être appelée à faire de petits achats, comme des cartes-cadeaux. Les numéros des cartes-cadeaux sont fournis aux fraudeurs pour confirmer qu'elles fonctionnent. À chaque étape, les fraudeurs demandent aux victimes de remplir et de soumettre un sondage sur le service à la clientèle en fonction de leurs expériences. Les sondages sont un moyen de convaincre les victimes que l'emploi est réel. Elles découvrent par la suite que le chèque qu'elles ont déposé est faux et qu'elles doivent maintenant de l'argent à la banque.

Indices – Comment vous protéger

Arnaque d'habillage de voiture

Les consommateurs reçoivent un message texte non sollicité les informant qu'ils peuvent gagner de 300 $ à 500 $ par semaine s'ils habillent leur voiture, camion, VUS ou vélo avec le logo d'une « compagnie ». Une adresse de courriel est fournie et les consommateurs qui répondent reçoivent des instructions et un contrat, suivis d'un chèque par la poste. Ils doivent déposer le chèque et retirer une partie des fonds. Les victimes doivent ensuite les déposer dans un compte bancaire afin de payer une compagnie de graphisme et d'autres frais. Les consommateurs apprennent ensuite que le chèque est contrefait et sont responsables des fonds retirés. Les fraudeurs représentent faussement des compagnies légitimes comme Clearly Canadian, Monster Energy, Coca Cola et Heineken afin que la possibilité de revenu semble réelle.

Indices – Comment vous protéger

Travail à domicile

Les fraudeurs se servent de sites de petites annonces gratuites en ligne ou envoient des courriels non sollicités pour recruter des victimes potentielles. Les consommateurs répondent à l'offre qui leur est faite de devenir :

et correspondent électroniquement avec les fraudeurs par la suite. Les victimes sont embauchées pour traiter les paiements au nom de la compagnie et recevoir les paiements des clients de la compagnie. Les victimes signalent habituellement avoir reçu des virements électroniques ou télégraphiques dans leur compte bancaire. Après avoir reçu un paiement, elles se font demander d'envoyer l'argent par Western Union ou MoneyGram à un représentant de la compagnie en Europe de l'Est (p. ex. Russie ou Ukraine).

Autre variante de cette arnaque : le fraudeur dit à la victime qu'il lui envoie de l'argent afin d'acheter les fournitures requises pour son nouveau bureau à la maison. Il fournit le nom d'une entreprise et les renseignements bancaires pour qu'elle puisse payer. Dans les faits, toutes les transactions traitées sont frauduleuses et la victime pourrait finir par devoir de l'argent à la banque.

Indices – Comment vous protéger

Offre d'emploi avec promesse d'immigration au Canada

Les fraudeurs créent de fausses offres d'emploi dans lesquelles on demande aux postulants de venir travailler et s'installer au Canada, souvent en utilisant le nom d'entreprises canadiennes. Les postulants peuvent remplir plusieurs demandes, et dans certaines, ils pourraient devoir fournir des renseignements personnels et financiers susceptibles d'être utilisés à des fins de fraude d'identité. Les fraudeurs féliciteront presque immédiatement les postulants d'avoir obtenu l'emploi. Une personne communiquera ensuite avec la victime et affirmera être en mesure de l'aider avec le processus d'immigration. Les fraudeurs peuvent prétendre travailler pour le Haut-Commissariat du Canada ou Immigration Canada. Ils demanderont de l'argent pour bien des raisons (passeports, permis, visas, chèques de voyage, etc.). Il arrive trop souvent que les victimes envoient de l'argent plusieurs fois avant de se rendre compte que l'emploi n'existe pas.

Indices – Comment vous protéger

Date de modification :